UQMS Research Conference Update

20 Sep 2018

Thanks to everyone who attended and/or presented at the 2018 UQMS Research Conference on 10 October 12:30-5pm at UQ Centre for Clinical Research (CCR).  

The conference was attended by over 100 students and staff.  The afternoon began with lunch and a chance to mingle with academic staff as well as view and/or quiz the authors of the 20 posters on display.  Professor Stuart Carney, Dean of UQ Medicine, opened the conference followed by eight student oral presentations, interrupted by afternoon tea and more networking.  The highlight of the afternoon was the keynote address by Professor David Paterson, Director of the UQ CCR and Infectious Disease Physician.  Professor Carney presented the certificates and prizes to all the award winners before closing the conference.  All details are on the Student Research Portal.

The list of all presentations is attached here.

A video recording of the entire conference is here.

Photos of all award winners can be viewed here.

Please also have a look at the video on Facebook

Award winners

Congratulations to all the award winners:

  • Faculty of Medicine Award for Best Poster - Maxter Thai (MD Year 4)
  • Queensland Brain Institute (QBI) Best Poster - Carl Haupt (MD Year 2)
  • TRI: Translational Research Poster - Harsh Desai (MD Year 1)
  • Faculty of Medicine Award for Best Oral Presentation - Chloe Yap (MD-MPhil Year 2)
  • QIMR Berghofer Best Oral Presentation - Lu Yu Kuo (MD Year 4)
  • People's Choice Award for Best Oral Presentation - Greg Quaife Ryan (MD-PhD Year 2)

Thanks goes to our academics, clinicians and researchers who reviewed the 48 abstracts which were submitted to the conference and judged all posters and oral presentations.

Reviewers: Dr Graham Leggatt (Diamantina Institute), Dr Peter Simpson and Dr Tracey Bjorkman (UQCCR), Dr Alka Kothari (Northside Clinical School), Dr Genevieve Healy (School of Public Health) and Dr Julia Garcia-Diaz (Ochsner Clinical School).

Judges: Dr Judith Greer and Dr Kirat Chand (UQCCR), Dr Mary Boyd, (Emergency Medicine, PAH), Dr Christos Xiao (QIMR Berghofer), Dr Holly Jarris (School of Public Health), Dr Xiaoying Cui (QBI), and Dr Valentine Murigneux, Dr Ahmed Mehdi, Dr Christine Zhang, Dr Blerida Banushi, and Dr Natale Snape (Diamantina Institute). 

Student research representatives: Cody Frear, Chloe Yap and Jonathan Hill

Finally we thank our sponsors; UQ Faculty of Medicine, Queensland Brain Institute (QBI), Queensland Institute of Medical Research (QIMR) Berghofer, Mater Research Institute (MRI), Translational Research Institute (TRI), UQ Diamantina Institute, UQ Centre for Clinical Research (UQCCR), Child Health Research Centre (CHRC) and the UQ Medical Society (UQMS).