

THE JOHN H. TYRER PRIZE IN INTERNAL MEDICINE

(This prize honours the memory of Emeritus Professor John Tyrer, who passed away on 6 June 2006, following a lifetime of outstanding service to medicine, which included his appointment as The University of Queensland's Foundation Professor of Medicine and Head of the Discipline of Medicine, 1954-1985. The prize was established in 1992 and is maintained from the income of a fund contributed by colleagues, friends and former students of Professor Tyrer.)

- (a) Awarded once every 2 years by Senate on the recommendation of the Medical Dean, Faculty of Medicine. To assist in the selection process, the Medical Dean, Faculty of Medicine must establish a selection committee, chaired by the Head, Discipline of Medicine, and comprised of academic staff teaching in the field of medicine.
- (b) Persons who -
 - (i) have resided in the State of Queensland during the 2 years immediately prior to the year of the award; and
 - (ii) have not previously been awarded the prize.
- (c) Best contribution by way of research in the field of Internal Medicine carried out in Queensland over the past 5 years.
- (d) (i) Approximately equal to the annual income from the fund for this and the preceding year; and
 - (ii) a medal.